Friday, April 1, 2011

Countries With Unusual and Unique Capitals

There are more than 200 countries in the world. Let’s learn more about the capitals of this long list of nations of the world.

South Africa - Country with 3 Capitals

1. Bloemfontein – is the judicial capital of South Africa
2. Cape Town - is the legislative capital of South Africa
3. Pretoria - is the executive (administrative) and de facto national capital of South Africa.

Cote d’Ivoire - Country with 2 Capitals

1. Abidjan is the economic capital of Cote d’Ivoire
2. District of Yamoussoukro is the official capital city of Cote d’Ivoire

Montserrat - Country with 2 Capitals

1. Plymouth was the capital as well as the only port of entry to Montserrat, an overseas territory of the UK
2. Brades is the de facto capital of Montserrat since 1998.

American Samoa - Country with 2 Capitals

1. Fagatogo is the capital of American Samoa due to the fact that it is listed in its Constitution as the official seat of government.
2. Pago Pago is the capital town of American Samoa.

Canary Island - Country with 2 Capitals

1. Las Palmas de Gran Canaria also known as just Las Palmas is one of the two capitals of Canary Island.
2. Santa Cruz de Tenerife or commonly known as Santa Cruz is the other capital of Canary Island.

Countries with Identical Capitals:

1. Singapore
2. Vatican City
3. Monaco
4. Panama – Panama City
5. Kuwait – Kuwait City
6. Djibouti – Djibouti City
7. Luxembourg – Luxembourg City
8. San Marino – San Marino City
9. Gibraltar – Gibraltar
10. Guatemala – Guatemala City
11. Mexico – Mexico City

Name of Nations Whose Capital Is Almost the Same:

1. Andorra- Andorra la Vella
2. Guinea-Bissau – Bissau
3. Algeria – Algiers
4. El Salvador – San Salvador
5. Brazil – Brasilia
6. Tunisia – Tunis

Longest Capital Names:

1. Thailand – Bangkok. Its official name is
kattiyavisanukamprasit – 163 letters
2. USA – Washington, District of Columbia – 28 letters
3. Sri Lanka - Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte – 23 letters
4. Cote d’Ivoire - District of Yamoussoukro – 22 letters
5. Brunei – Bandar Seri Begawan – 17 letters
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


  1. Neither Las Palmas nor Santa Cruz can be considered nation's capitals since Canary Islands belong to Spain.

  2. ...and there is not just one single 'Canary Island'! Canary islandS are;

    Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, El Hierro, La Graciosa, Alegranza, Isla de Lobos, Montaña Clara, Roque del Este and Roque del Oeste.

  3. the way Washington was added to the longest list, along with using capitals native names, Ciudad de Mexico, Distrito Federal would come in at 29 letters

  4. Krungthepmahanakornamornratanakosinmahintarayutthayamahadilokphopnopp
    kattiyavisanukamprasit is not the real name of the capital of thailand. NOTHING came up on google search.


Web Statistics


If you are the original creator of material featured on this website and want it removed, please contact the webmaster .

THE WORLD GEOGRAPHY | Copyright 2009 Tüm Haklar? Sakl?d?r | Free Blogger Templates by GoogleBoy Download Free Wordpress Templates. Unblock through unblock myspace proxy, Hillsongs by Guitar Song Chords