Saturday, December 10, 2011

8 Smallest National Capitals in the World

The world's smallest national capitals are all either in small island nations or in European microstates. You've probably heard about larger villages than these capital cities... 

8. Valletta, Malta
photo source
Population:  5.666 inhabitants (census 2011)
Valletta, Malta’s capital and a World Heritage site, is nothing short of an open-air museum. It is a living experience of Baroque architecture, a monument donated by the Knights of St John nearly five centuries ago.  This town is located in the central-eastern portion of the island of Malta, and the historical city has a population of 5.666. Valleta is strategically located on a rocky promontory between two deep harbors. Dockyards line the harbors and employ more workers than any other industry. Tourism is also an important industry.

7. Vaduz, Liechtenstein
photo source
Population: 5.497 inhabitants (census 2011)
Vaduz is capital of Liechtenstein , on the Rhine River. It is a tourist center. A beautiful medieval castle (now an art museum) dominates the town. Vaduz was destroyed (1499) in the war between the Swiss and the Holy Roman Empire and was rebuilt in the early 16th century. The Principality of Liechtenstein is a doubly landlocked alpine country in Central Europe, bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and by Austria to the east.

6. Funafuti, Tuvalu
Funafuti, Tuvalu - airview  photo source
Population: 5.300 inhabitants (census 2011)
Funafuti is an atoll. It is the capital of the island nation of Tuvalu. Tuvalu is a Polynesian island nestled in the Pacific Ocean. Funafuti consists of narrow piece of land, twenty to 400 m (1.300 ft) wide. It is surrounded by a 18 km (11 mi) long and 14 m (46 ft) wide lagoon. Funafuti comprises 33 islands, each covering an average area of 2.45 sq km (0,9 sq mi).

5. City of San Marino, San Marino
photo source
Population: 4,647 inhabitants (census 2007)
The republic of San Marino is located in the Apennine Mountains and is completely surrounded by Italy. San Marino Cities are nine in number and each city has a distinct characteristic of its own. San Marino cities are picturesque and abound in exotic architectures. The capital city of San Marino is the San Marino city. Maximum tourists come to visit San Marino city and contribute immensely to the economy of the country.

4. Palikir, Micronesia
photo source
Population: 4,645 inhabitants (census 2011)
Palikir, capital of the Federated States of Micronesia (Pacific Ocean). Located in a heavily wooded region in the NW part of the island of Pohnpei, it replaced Kolonia (about 6 mi/10 km to the east) as the capital of Micronesia in 1989. The presidential and legislative offices as well as other governmental buildings were constructed in the 1980s. Palikir is on the site of a former airfield built by the Japanese when they occupied the island during World War II.

3. Yaren, Nauru
Yaren, Nauru International Airport  photo source
Population: 1.250 inhabitants (census 2011)
Yaren, in earlier times Makwa/Moqua, is a district and constituency of the Pacific nation of Nauru. It is the de facto capital of Nauru.Yaren district shown within Nauru. Yaren is located in the south of the island. Its area is 1.5 sq km (0,6 sq mi), and its population was 1.250 in 2011. To the north of Yaren is Buada, to the east is Meneng and to the west is Boe.

2. Vatican City, Vatican
St Peter's Square, Vatican City  photo source
Population: 829 inhabitants (census 2010)
Vatican City is the latest and only current Papal state in existence and the temporal seat of the Pope, head of the worldwide Catholic Church. Situated within the city of Rome in Italy, the Vatican is the world's smallest state. Outside the Vatican City itself, 13 buildings in Rome and Castel Gandolfo, the Pope's summer residence, also enjoy extraterritorial rights.

1. Ngerulmud, Palau
Capital building in Ngerulmud  photo source
Population: 271 inhabitants (census 2010)
Ngerulmud, a settlement in the State of Melekeok, is the capital of Palau. It has the smallest population of any national capital of a sovereign state. On 7 October 2006, government officials moved their offices in the former capital of Koror to Ngerulmud. Ngerulmud is located 20 km (12 mi) northeast of Koror on Babeldaob (Babelthaup) Island and 2 km (1.2 mi) northwest of the Melekeok village. Interestingly the Capitol building of Palau located in Ngerulmud is modelled somewhat after the US Capitol.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 comment:

  1. Very grateful to this website, I downloaded a lot of and learned a lot, I hope you will continue to work hard, I would often visit here.


Web Statistics


If you are the original creator of material featured on this website and want it removed, please contact the webmaster .

THE WORLD GEOGRAPHY | Copyright 2009 Tüm Haklar? Sakl?d?r | Free Blogger Templates by GoogleBoy Download Free Wordpress Templates. Unblock through unblock myspace proxy, Hillsongs by Guitar Song Chords